You can no longer delete variants or items that have been previously ordered. To remoe the item from your site, just turn the “active” switch off and it will not be visible on your site.
It was creating issues where items were destroyed and orders were showing that the item that was ordered is no longer available. In response to this, we decided to change the way we calculate plan usage. We believed it is not fair to charge people for how many items they use if they do not have the right to destroy an item. Now we only count active items as part of your plan.